Thunder Run by David Zucchino

Jake McLaughlin led me to this book.

It started like this. I was watching the TV show Quantico, halfway through the first episode I was getting frustrated. Not because of the show but because of my own memory. I recognised the actor playing Ryan Booth but could not for the life of me figure out what I had seen him in. After the episode had finished I looked him up. After finding out I had recognised him from a show I use to watch called Believe, I read the rest of his biography. It turns out that before Jake was an actor he was in the military. After reading about his military history, his biography referenced a book he was mentioned in. After pondering for a few minutes I thought why not. It’s been a while since I have read anything from the military genre, let’s give this one a go. And that is how Jake McLaughlin led me to this book.

I am really glad that I decided to read this book. I honestly can’t believe I hadn’t read it sooner. It could be because I find that books from the modern military genre are a bit hit and miss. Well that couldn’t be further from the case with this book. David Zucchino’s Thunder Run defiantly hit the mark.

After reading Thunder Run I had a much deeper understanding of urban warfare. It’s advantages and it’s challenges. Expertly written by four-time Pulitzer prize finalist David Zucchino. This book really takes you on a journey. A walk through a part of American Military History. The interviews taken during and after the war, with both American and Iraqi soldiers are seamlessly woven together creating a rounded picture of the battle to capture Baghdad. David really captured the chaos of combat. With an in dept look at events and strategy leading up to and during the armored strike.

Thunder Run is not a book for the faint of heart, with graphic descriptions of the violence and horrors of war. This is a must read book for anyone with an interest in military tactics, urban warfare and modern weaponry.

David Zucchino’s Thunder Run is not a book I will be forgetting anytime soon, and given its historical relevance and it’s subject matter I believe it is important that it isn’t forgotten at all.

 

Leave a Reply

