October Wrap Up…

Welcome to my first ever wrap up. I’m just going to wing it here so if you have any tips or suggestions for me for next month let me know.

Okay here goes nothing…

I had a great reading month in October, managing to hit my target of ten books. If you can’t tell I am pretty pleased with myself. I have reviewed all 10 books so I’m not going to go on and on about them here. If you want to know more about my October reads the reviews for them are on my blog, if they aren’t all there they soon will be.

I kicked of the month with Revenants: the odyssey home by Scott Kauffman. Now Scott sent me this book for an honest review a i am so grateful that he did, it was awesome. A perfect book to kick off the month. The story revolves around a teenage girl who just lost her brother in the Vietnam War and is forced into working at the VA Hospital. At the hospital she discovers a mystery patient and makes it her mission to get him home. This book was so beautiful and heartfelt that it really helped me get into my reading groove this month.

#PleaseRetweet by Emily Benet was a great choice for my second read of the month. A book about the trouble you can find yourself in while living in our social media obsessed world. With the perfect amount of humour, romance and craziness I couldn’t put this book down.

I have mixed feelings about this next book. The secret in their eyes by Eduardo Sacheri. It was really well written with the plot twists being revealed in the right places, I just found it a little hard to get into at the start. I will freely admit I went into this book with a bias. As this book has recently been made into a movie I thought I had an understanding of what I would be getting. I was wrong. The film has obviously made some dramatic changes to the storyline. After I got over my biases I really enjoyed this book. After the first few chapters I forgot all about the film and let the author take me on a journey. If you haven’t seen the film you shouldn’t have an issue with this book. If you have, give it a change before your right it off. It really is worth it.

The next three books are all by igloo press. Wonders of the world, people who changed the world, and events that shaped history. I truly only loved wonders of the world. I think these books would be great reference books for kids and high school students but for me I didn’t really learn anything new by reading them. The beautiful photography in wonders of the world is reason enough to buy that one. The other two I could take or leave. 

Onto Who’s the lucky guy by Samuel Mugginton. I don’t rate this book. I couldn’t get invested in it. I didn’t like the main character, the plot was too weird for me and there were too many intertwined storylines. I feel that this book could actually benefit from becoming multiple short stories instead of one novel.

The final three books this month were all quick reads. Vision of hope by Leilani Faber kicked it off with her true story of recovery from drug addiction. I really enjoyed this book. As the title states it was a vision of hope. Leilani’s story didn’t focus on the rehabilitation from drug addiction just the rebuilding of her life after drugs. I found it refreshing and hopeful. 

I really don’t have alot to say about Tales from the BanNana Bar by Byron George. I didn’t like it. The nicest thing I have to say is I’m glad it was a quick read. 

And finally I finished October on a high note with Enlightened Pregnancy by Luisa Magarian. I’m not pregnant nor am I a parent but I adored this book. Filled with poems and activities to help the reader connect with their baby, this book was just beautiful. I’m glad I finished the month with this book, it left me with a happy feeling and a sense of calm.

Well that’s it form me. If you like the look of any of these books check out my blog for full reviews. If the review your looking for isn’t up yet it will be by next week, so don’t worry.

As I said at the start this is my first wrap up so if you have any tips or you didn’t like something let me know and I will try and do better next month. 

❤ Gem

Leave a Reply

