Treasury of Fairy Tales/Beauty and the Beast/The Goblin Pony/Hamlet

Once again these books aren’t big enough or in-depth enough for individual reviews,which means it’s time for another four in one review. Like my last four in one I will give you some information on each book and then some notes.

Treasury of Fairy Tales by North Parade Publications. This hard cover book contains much-loved fairy tales; Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood, the Gingerbread Man, Sleeping Beauty, the Beauty and the Beast, Pinocchio, Snow White and Cinderella. Each story is short but sweet. With big bold print and beautiful illustrations. Making it the perfect collection to read to or with children.

Beauty and The Beast by Anne Marie Ryan with illustrations by Jacqueline East. I loved the cover of this book, but once inside I was disappointed. I didn’t like this version of my favourite fairytale. The illustrations were wonderful apart from the fact that Beauty was depicted as a blonde. If you don’t already have a favourite version on this story then my issues with this version won’t be a problem for you.

Tales from Shakespeare: Hamlet by Timothy Knapman with illustrations by Yaniv Shimony. This Illustrated edition was retold in modern English, making it a fast and enjoyable read. I truly loved the addition of the illustrations. I also loved the fact that important quotes from the original version were kept in this version. This book would be a great book to get young people interested in Shakespeare without overwhelming them with the old English writing.

The Goblin Pony and other stories by Vic Parker. This book contains ‘scary fairy tales’ such as The Goblin Pony, the Jelly fish and the Monkey, Tom Tit Tot, Beauty and the Beast, and the Strange Visitor. Honestly I have mixed opinions about this book. I absolutely loved the Illustrations and I did enjoy some of the stories. I was disappointed once again with this books version on Beauty and the Beast. I was also disappointed with the changes made to Rumpelstiltskin (Tom Tit Tot). Other than that I did love this book of ‘scary fairy tales’. I especially loved reading fairy tales that I was unfamiliar with. I would advise that you read this book yourself before sharing it with children because not all of these tales have a happy ending. I guess that’s why they are called ‘scary fairy tales’.

Leave a Reply

