Heartless by Marissa Meyer 

Ever wondered how the Queen of Hearts became so horrible? Well wonder no more; Heartless by Marissa Meyer answers all of you question in this amazing prequel to Alice in Wonderland.

Long before she was the Queen of Hearts; Catherine just wanted to fall in love and open her very own bakery. Catherine and her best friend Mary-Anne have grand plans for their bakery, their only obstacle; Catherine’s mother, who has a very different idea of how her daughters future will unfold. Follow Catherine on her journey from sweet dreamer, to the terror of Wonderland.

I loved this book. Absolutely loved it.

Marissa Meyer has done a marvellous job with this book; she was able to bring the story of Catherine and her decline into the Queen of Hearts to life whilst keeping true to the essence of Wonderland. Heartless is a magical story that you won’t want to end.

Filled with much-loved characters from Alice in Wonderland; The Mad Hatter, White Rabbit, The Cheshire Cat and caterpillar to name a few. With the introduction of new or different characters to fall in love with.

Heartless is a joy to behold.

Marissa Meyer’s descriptive writing and amazing storytelling was captivating. I felt like I was right there in hearts. I really loved the fact that so many great quotes from Alice in Wonderland were woven into this story; (why is a Raven like a writing desk?), and of course no story about the Queen of Hearts would be complete without at least one ‘off with his head’.

The only negative I have about this book is that it was a little slow at the start, but once the characters were established and the story was underway I couldn’t put it down.

I have read a few prequels in the past, But Heartless is by far the best. I went into this story knowing that Catherine was going to become the Queen of Hearts, yet I still found myself wishing it wasn’t going to happen. The anticipation kept me on the edge of my seat, which I loved. I got so invested in these wonderful characters that I forget that I knew the end result.

Marissa Meyer is an amazing writer and her ability to keep the magic of Wonderland alive throughout this book, whilst telling a completely original story is mind-blowing.

Heartless By Marissa Meyer is a must read for all Alice fans. NO!!! It is a must read for everyone.

Leave a Reply

