The Magic Pudding by Norman Lindsay

The Magic Pudding follows the adventures of a young Koala; Bunyip Bluegum. On his journeys Bunyip Bluegum makes friends with sailor Bill Barnacle and penguin Sam Sawnoff and becomes part owner of a pudding. Not just any pudding, a magic pudding. On their travels the three friends and Albert the magic pudding must continually out wit the pudding thieves Possum and Wombat.

Written and illustrated by Norman Lindsay, The Magic Pudding: The Adventures of Bunyip Bluegum and his friends Bill Barnacle and Sam Sawnoff is an Australian children’s classic.

I grew up with the story of the magic pudding. Reading it or being read it as a child was a fun and magical experience. The great characters, great plot and humour were a massive draw card for me as a kid.

I was really excited to get my hands on this book as an adult. My hope was to be transported back to my childhood through this book. Unfortunately I was a little disappointed.

Re reading this book as an adult just didn’t have the same impact. I feel the story lost some of its magic and became repetitive and boring. The first few chapters were great, I was excited and couldn’t wait for the next page. By the half way mark, I was over it. The plot slowed down and became predictable. By the end, I was ready to move on.

I understand that this is a book for children, I loved it as a child, but as an adult it just wasn’t the same. I still love the story and will happily recommend it to kids (well parents of kids).

I think there is a definite reason The Magic Pudding is a classic Australian children’s story, but for me I just kinda wish I had left it as a wonderful childhood memory.

Leave a Reply

