My 13 Favourite Books…

After much deliberation I have narrowed this post down to my 13 Favourite books. I will go through each selection and give you some insights on why its one of my favourites. Lets jump in…

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: Well if you follow my blog or social media you would already know I Love Harry Potter. Reading Harry Potter blows my mind. The characters, the world and the magic is and always has been an escape for me. I use to wish that Hogwarts was real and I would be lucky enough to go there. The Harry Potter series sparked my love of reading and is a series I always return to when I need a little magic in my life.

A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett: This book is the first book I remember reading. As a child this book was everything to me, it was my happy place. I’ve read this book many times as an adult and it still moves me. I love the imagination, the friendship and the strong shelf belief that this book promotes.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett: After reading and loving A Little Princess I got The Secret Garden, and I fell in love with my second book. I still to this day, dream of having my own secret garden. This book just makes me feel warm and fuzzy when I read it.

Anne Of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery: I love Anne. Growing up I could relate to Anne’s talkative personality and her insecurities about her appearance. I love the character arc that Anne goes on through this book and I love her imagination and internal descriptive dialogue. Anne Of Green Gables is a must read.

Les Miserable by Victor Hugo: Victor Hugo is the master. Going into this book was extremely daunting. The sheer size of it almost put me off. Thankfully I pushed on and I am so glad I did. Having a book cover such a massive amount of years and people was something I had never experienced before. Seeing the characters struggles, connections and the way life changed over time made for an unforgettable reading experience.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: I adore this book. If you have read it, I hope you do too. This book was perfectly written. Reading about WW2 through the eyes of a child was both beautiful and heartbreaking. Seeing the way these character’s grew and changed as the story and war progress was a masterpiece of writing. If you havent read this book you definitely should.

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton: I had to read this book in high school. I didn’t think I would enjoy it, it was required reading after all. After reading this book I had to adjust my thoughts on require reading. This book was amazing. I loved the characters and their journeys. This is a book that I think everyone should read at least once in their life. Stay Golden Ponyboy.

Time Of My Life by Patrick Swayze and Lisa Niemi: As a massive Patrick Swayze fan I wasnt really surprised that I loved this book. It was honest, raw and heartbreaking. Reading about Patrick and Lisa’s life, careers, marriage and Patrick’s battle with cancer was such a moving experience. Having the book written by both Patrick and Lisa gave it an extra layer, getting both party’s views and opinions made for a beautiful read.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck: I read the Grapes of Wrath in high school and while it was good, I just didn’t love it. After leaving school I decided to give John Steinbeck another chance and picked up East of Eden. I am so so so glad I did. I couldn’t put this book down. East of Eden is one of the best classic books I have ever read. It was perfectly written, with amazing characters and a fantastic plot. As a pretty large book I was pleasantly surprised how fast I devoured it and how unhappy I was that there wasnt more book for me to read.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery: This beautiful little book is a joy to behold. Every time I read this book I take something different from it. Whether its Hope, Longing or pure joy, this book just radiates life for me. A must read for everyone.

The Beekeeper’s Secret by Josephine Moon: When narrowing down my top 13 I just couldn’t bring myself to take this book off the list.This beautiful book is set in modern times, with current events being intertwined into a beautiful plot. With family the core of this book, I just fell in love. With amazing characters and cinematic writing I felt like I was apart of this story. I can’t think of another book like this one. In my opinion its one of a kind.

My Special Christmas Adventure: This amazingly beautiful book was given to me by my Nan and Pop for my first Christmas and I absolutely adore it. It is personalised, and features Me, my older sister and my two older cousins. I read this book every Christmas and it always makes me feel special and happy.

Miss You, Pat by Sharon Watts: Miss You, Pat is a collection of memories of Captain Patrick J. Brown of the FDNY. Paddy Brown was a first responder who lost his life on 9/11. 9/11 was one of the first devastating event that had an effect on me. As a young teenager I didn’t really care about what was happening in the world around me up until this point. I became a little obsessed with learning about 9/11 and the lives that were affected. Miss You, Pat really struck me and opened my eyes to the world around me and the people who live in it.

While I had a lot of trouble picking just 13 books I am happy with how this list turned out. Comment and let me know if any of these books are on your favourite list, or let me know your favourite books and why.

Happy Reading

❤ Gem

 

Leave a Reply

