Being 14 by Madonna King

Being 14 gives a voice to the 14-year-old girls of Australia. Madonna King interviewed 200 14-year-old girls from around Australia, as well as Teachers, Principles, Psychologists, Police and Neuroscientists, to unravel the social, psychological and physical challenges facing 14-year-old girls today. Answering the many questions surrounding the mysterious species that is the 14-year-old girl, this book will help you understand and give you some insights to help you help her navigate the tricky teen years.

I really enjoyed this book.

I was really impressed by the way Madonna King was able to put this book together. The interviews she conducted were impressive and respectful yet completely enlightening.

I can remember the struggles of being 14, I look back at that time of my life and cringe. As someone who doesn’t have children and is way past the awful teen years, I was not only deeply moved by these stories but also completely shocked by some of the situations these girls are dealing with.

While reading this book I was so glad that I didn’t have to grow up in the world that these girls are navigating.

Madonna King has gifted parents with this amazing book. I definitely learned a lot whilst reading Being 14, so I can only imagine how helpful this book is going to be for anyone with a 14-year-old girl.

Madonna King’s writing is so beautiful, her openness and warm-ness radiate off the pages and really captures the message that the girls she spoke to wanted to express.

Being 14 was a definite eye opener that I have recommended to many people already.

If you have a 14-year-old girl in your life than this book is a must have. Go and buy it now, you can thank Madonna King later.

 

Leave a Reply

