April Wrap Up…

Welcome to my April Wrap Up. I had a great reading month, finishing 11 books (unfortunately only 2 from my TBR). I really enjoyed all the books I read this month, So im looking forward to talking about them in this wrap up.

I have reviews up or coming up for most of these books so as usual this is just going to be a brief run down on each book I read.

Without further ado, let’s get into my April Wrap Up…

Being 14 by Madonna King: This amazing book is an inside look at the strange creature that is the 14-year-old girl. Madonna King interviewed 200 14-year-old girls as well as parents, teachers, doctors and police and the results are on display in this amazing book. This book is a must read for all parents of young or teenage girls.

The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba Clarke: This deeply moving book is a snap shot of author of Maxine Clarke’s upbringing in Western Sydney. This book will definatly pull on you heartstrings and make you look at yourself in the mirror. This heartbreakingly beautiful memoir is not to be missed.

The Song Of Us by J.D. Barrett: I absolutely adored this book. Zoe is a harpist who spends her days playing for the dying. After losing a client Zoe decides its time for her to start living. Filled with love, happiness and truly tender moments, This is definitely a book that I am going to read many many times in the future. I don’t have a bad word to say about J.D. Barrett’s The Song Of Us. This book is a must read, I promise It will stay with you long after the final page.

I Was Only Nineteen by John Schumann: This beautiful book, illustrates the deeply moving lyrics of John Schumann’s powerful song about the Vietnam War. Craig Smith’s illustrations capture the heartbreaking story being told by John’s words. This book is perfect for parents to use as an introduction to the subject of war for their children.

I Need A Hug by Susie Linn: This beautiful children’s book follows Boo the bush baby as he travels around the Zoo looking for a hug before he goes to bed. This book is so sweet it will make your teeth ache. A must have for all parents.

One Thing by Lauren Child: A wonderful book for kids, filled with great illustration and a story that is over flowing with numbers. This book is great not just for helping kids learn to read but to help with learning numbers. A great fun book that is also an amazing learning tool.

Butterfly, We’re Expecting You by Libby Hathorn: I can’t even describe how wonderful this book is. An amazingly beautiful children’s book that takes a journey through a backyard discovering birds, bees and of course a butterfly. Reading this book made me wish I had children to share it will. If you have a child in your life, you absolutely have to get them this book.

And The Band Played Waltzing Matilda: This book is an illustration of Eric Bogle’s iconic song about Gallipoli. Bruce Whatley’s heartbreaking illustrations expertly bring to life Eric Bogle’s haunting lyrics about the futility of war. The extremely moving book is a must have for all Australian’s.

The Turners: Fully Doomed by Mick Elliott: The third and final book in The Turners series and Mick Elliott took us out on a high. Following Leo and Abbie as they travel the world in order to save all Turners. This book was fantastic. Funny, Fast Paced and brilliantly Freaking. If you have yet read the turners series by Mick Elliott, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR.

The Girl In The Blue Coat by Monica Hesse: This book was heartbreakingly beautiful. Set in Amsterdam in 1943, It follows an 18 Year old girl as she navigates the new normal of Nazi occupation. I truly loved this book. I picked this book up randomly not knowing anything about it, and now I can’t stop talking about it. If you havent yet read it, do yourself a favour and find a copy now.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff: This book blew my mind. I wasnt sure about this book when I picked it up, but it was clear to me after a few dozen pages that I was hooked. I finished the entire book in less than 24 hours and am planing to read it again next weekend. The plot, the characters and the fantastically awesome style and layout of this book make for a captivating read. Do no miss out of this mind-blowing reading experience.

That’s it for my April Wrap Up. Let me know what you guys read this month. Until my May Wrap Up…

Happy Reading…

❤ Gem

Leave a comment