Not A Newbie…

This post is similar to the introduction/newbie post that is mainly a feature on booktube. I have decided to do a not a newbie version for my blog. Hope you guys enjoy and learn something new.

How old is your blog?

gemsbooknook celebrated its first birthday on the 23 of April 2017.

What are your favourite posts to write? 

Whilst I love writing reviews I would have to say my favourite posts to write are actually Wrap Ups. I love looking back at what I read over the month, it makes me feel productive seeing all the books I’ve read.

What is one piece of advice you would give someone who wants to start a blog?

I actually have 2. Take the leap, it’s not a scary as it seems and remember to have fun. If you’re not enjoying yourself it just isn’t worth it and your content suffers because your readers can tell you’re not enjoying it.

Have you come across any unforeseen challenges?

Umm, Time would have to be my biggest challenge. Since I mainly post book reviews I have to make sure I give myself enough time to read the book, write the review, edit the review and find images or thumbnails. I just have to be diligent with my time management or I will lose my consistency in my uploads.

What your favourite book or series you have read because of your blog?

That’s actually an easy answer, Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I was hearing so much hype in the lead up to its release I had to read it. So glad I did it was absolute fantastic and if im honest im not sure if I would have found it without the blogging and booktube communities.

Favourite aspect of blogging?

I love being able to talk to other book lovers and get their opinions and recommendations while also sharing my love of reading.

Biggest upside to blogging?

The biggest upside has been the introduction to author’s and publisher’s. Making these contacts has given me the chance to receive pre released books and conduct author interviews. It has made a huge difference to my blog.

Biggest down side to blogging?

Umm, having to review books I didn’t like. I wont DNF a book if I have to write a review for it, this means that sometimes im stuck slogging through a book that im just not interested in.

Hope for your blogging future?

I hope to have gemsbooknook quoted on a cover on inside a book. I also hope that I will be able to eventually make gemsbooknook a job and earn an income from it.

Parting thoughts???

If you are thinking about becoming a blogger, do it. It has changed my life and I am thankful everyday that I took the leap and started my blog.

Happy Reading

❤ Gem

Leave a Reply

