Characterise Me…

This post is about the book characters that I identify with most. As I was writing this post I realised that im picking characters that are what I think or hope I am like. Since im the one writing this post im not going to pick out characters that highlight my flaws. While looking at the characters I have selected I realised that I don’t completely agree with or relate to everything about each of these characters, just something or somethings about them I feel I can identify with.

Belle from The Beauty and the Beast: Well Belle is my princess. She is the first and only princess that I related to. Not only did she have brown hair and brown eyes like me but she loved reading. I also loved that she self sacrificed to protect her loved ones. I don’t think I would be as brave as she was but I hope I would try.

Hermione Granger from Harry Potter: I really relate to Hermione’s thirst for knowledge and her love of books. I also love her loyalty to her friends.

Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter: I really identify with Luna’s belief that anything is possible. I also really related to her ‘weird outsider’ status. I just wish I had the self-confidence that she has. I definitely care less about what people think about me now as an adult then I did at her age.

Sara Crew from The Little Princess: I love Sara’s optimism. I like to think im a half glass full type of person. I do struggle with it sometimes but I would like to think I could be as optimistic as Sara if the situation called for it.

Scarlett from Caraval: I completely related to Scarlett’s protectiveness of her sister Tella. Having three younger sisters myself, I really understood her and saw myself in her.

Tella from Caraval: Yes I related to both of the sisters in Caraval. I have an older sister who looks out for me so I do tend to act first think later on some occasions. I also related to Tella’s love for Scarlett and her wanting to do something for her.

Claire Shorten from Paris Lights: I really related to Claire’s determination not to let her ex ruin Paris for her. I loved that she stayed in Paris to create her own memories and didn’t hesitate to do what was needed to regain her strength. As I was reading this book I had flash backs to times when I had to do the same thing on a trip, to a lesser extent yes, but I really understood her in that moment.

Well that’s it from me. I think I could probably find things in most characters that I can relate to but these are the amazing characters that spoke to me and that I saw myself in at the times in my life when I discovered them.

Let me know in the comments which characters you feel you relate to.

Happy Reading…

❤ gEM

 

Leave a Reply

