Stargazing For Beginners by JennyMcLachlan 

When Meg’s free-spirited mum abruptly takes off, science lover Meg is left to look after her baby sister Elsa. The timing of Meg’s mum’s latest disappearance couldn’t have come at a worse time; Meg is desperate to win a chance to visit NASA. Can Meg really pull of this double life of caring for Elsa and chasing her own dreams?

This book took me a while to get into, but once I did I really enjoyed it. The character of Meg didn’t really appeal to me at the beginning of the book, but after her mum left I really started to feel for her.

Jenny McLachlan did a wonderful job with the supporting characters in this book. These characters really added an extra layer and some much-needed humor to this story.

I was concerned going into this book that it was going to be filled with teen angst, I was very happily proven wrong on this point.

The relationships that develop and grow throughout this book make for a genuinely lovely reading experience.

As an older sister I loved seeing the bond between Meg and Elsa develop throughout this book.

Jenny McLauchlan has a beautiful writing style, this is the first time I have read one of her books and I really loved the way her writing felt. It was clean, humorous and a times really cinematic. I found myself re reading chapters of this book so I could see the scene play out in front of me over and over again.

I will definatly read Jenny McLachlan’s writing again, it was beautiful. This book left me with the warm and fuzzy’s and I am so grateful that I gave it a chance.

Stargazing For Beginners by Jenny McLachlan is not to be missed.

 

Leave a Reply

