Carry On by Rainbow Rowell 

Simon Snow is the Chosen One, but half of the time he can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. It’s Simon’s last year at Watford School of Magicks and it’s not going well. His roommate hasn’t shown up, his mentor is avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

Readers were introduced to Simon Snow in Fangirl. Fangirl’s protagonist Cath is obsessed with Simon Snow, she spends her time writing Simon Snow fan fiction; Carry On is the end result.

Carry On is very similar to another wizarding series about a Chosen boy, with some original twists on the characters.

Honestly I didn’t love this book. I liked it, I just didn’t love it. I was excited to read Carry On after reading Fangirl, so I was disappointed by my lack of interest. I loved reading about Simon in the scattered chapters throughout Fangirl, but I didn’t really need a whole book about him. I would’ve prefered a Fangirl sequel.

The writing was good and the characters were diverse and entertaining, yet I just couldn’t get into it. The similarities between this book and another wizarding book were just too similar and that made me lose interest. I also found the fact that this book was set during Simon’s eight year at school ment I could see what Rainbow Rowell was trying to create with these character relationships but I just couldn’t feel it.

I completely understand why this book is so popular, it just wasnt for me. If you have read Fangirl then I would recommend you read this book, I would just advise you to manage your expectations.

 

8 thoughts on “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell 

  1. louisa94 says:

    I have only read Rainbow’s Eleanor and Park. What do you think of her writing style and do you think she might be a little overrated? Or was Fangirl just really good and the others aren’t as impressive?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

