The Upside Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Molly Peskin-Suso has had a lot of crushes, yet she has never kissed a boy. Molly is terrified of rejection, so she crushes from a safe distance. With Molly’s mum’s getting married, and her twin sister Cassie a love struck mess, Molly is feeling lonely. With things changing rapidly in Molly’s life, and two new boys in her orbit, is Molly about to have her first kiss, maybe even her first boyfriend.

I loved this book.

After reading Simon vs the HomoSapien agenda, I had high hopes for this book, and let me tell you it didn’t disappoint.

Becky Albertalli has done a fantastic job with this book. I completely related to Molly and loved seeing her grow as the story unfolded.

As someone who went through weight insecurities during my teenage years, I loved seeing these issues dealt with by Molly, and how different characters treated Molly due to her weight.

I was also really surprised and really pleased to see mental illness explored in this story. I am someone who is medicated for mental illness issues and I was glad to see this topic being explored and not stigmatized.

I wasnt expecting this book to surpass Simon vs the homosapien agenda but it definitely did. I loved getting to catch up with Simon. albeit briefly, in this book.

Becky Albertalli’s writing style really agrees with me, and her ability to create warm, compassionate, relatable character, makes for a truly wonderful reading experience.

If you havent yet got yourself a copy of this book, do it now. You will regret missing out on this fantastic reading experience.

The Upside Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli is not to be missed.

Leave a Reply

