Alice In Zombieland by Gena Showalter 

Alice In Zombieland is the first book in the White Rabbit Chronicles.

Ali Bell has had a very sheltered life. Her father can see ‘monsters’, so Ali and her family don’t leave the house after dark. On her 16th Birthday, Ali pressures her parents into going to her 8-year-old sister Emma’s night-time dance recital. On the way home Ali and her family are in a car accidents caused by Zombies (monsters), Ali is the sole survivor. Now living with her grandparents, Ali starts at a new school, meets bad boy Cole and comes to terms with the fact that her Dad could see monsters, and she can too.

If you are expecting Alice in Wonderland but with Zombies than you are going to be disappointed. While there are definite nods to Alice in Wonderland (Alice, The White Rabbit, ect), this book isn’t a Alice in Wonderland re telling.

I was hesitant going into this book, not because of the Alice aspect but because im not a huge fan of zombies. But I am pleased to say I really enjoyed this book. By the time I got to the end I couldn’t wait to dive into book 2.

After a slowish start, Alice in Zombieland came out swinging. With a great array of characters, all with their own differing personalities there was never a dull moment.

My dislike of Zombies wasnt even an issue with this book. Gena Showalter has created a new, fresh and completely interesting take on the ‘Zombie’.

With the high school teen characters, the night-time ‘monster’ feel and the differing characters I couldn’t help but get some Buffy the Vampire Slayer vibes from this book. Which as a huge fan of Buffy, was a pleasant surprise for me.

I am really glad I read this book, it was fun, creative and really drew me in. The fact that there is multiple books in this series for me to devour is a bonus.

If you are looking for a great book with awesome characters, strong plot and fantastic writing Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter in the book for you.

 

Leave a comment